Writing Woes

As I stated in my last post (just a few hours ago), I’m participating in NaNoWriMo. For anyone not familiar, this is a challenge to write a novel (or at least 50K of it) during the month of November. It’s not likely I’ll ‘win’ as I just have far too many other obligations to write that quickly, but I’m viewing it as an exercise in pushing myself to get the words out.

This book I’m working on now, Home for Hope book 3, is really testing me. I’ve been writing Elijah and Adam for two years, but I’ve been excited about writing Kollin’s and Riley’s story for about a year and a half of that time. I think it’s kind of like all the times someone has built up a movie or TV show or certain food or restaurant for so long that when I finally get to it, no matter how delicious or amazing or funny it is, it’ll never be as good as I expect.

*sigh*

There are so many pieces to Kollin’s and Riley’s story that I think I’m going to end up writing a massive and random story and then going back once I’m finished to cut huge sections out while I sob over the never to be read words. I’ve never written like this before. It’s a new experience for me and part of me wonders if I weren’t pushing to get 50K out this month, would I manage to find the time to whittle away exactly what I want before I write it? Probably not. I’ve never been a plotter. I was a pantser long before I even knew the term existed and no amount of time spent on an outline will change that I don’t know what my characters are going to do in a scene until I start writing it.

I’ll return back to my doc now and do my best to get these boys to stay on one path. And if I can’t, I guess I’ll spend all of December editing. Happy Monday, guys! ❤

Leave a Reply

